top of page

GeekGear World of Wizardry November Box 2017

Hey!

Today my World of Wizardry box for November arrived and here is what I received! The hints for this month were: Dobby, Wizards Chess and Harry's Scar.

I wasn't really sure what to expect from this box, I knew it would have a Christmas theme to it so that excited me, but the Wizards Chess and Harry's Scar hints had me curious! The first thing I noticed when I opened the box was that there was an extra piece of tissue paper this month which had snowflakes and glitter in it, I got quite excited about this considering it is only tissue paper but it is quite different having the glitter in it, i'll definitely try and reuse this.

When I lifted the tissue paper sitting on top was this months T-Shirt which is pretty adorable, it has Dobby in the centre wearing a Santa hat holding a Christmas themed sock surrounded by Christmas patterns and was designed by Risa Rodil.

The next thing I dug out of my box was this Wizarding Beanie, which once I saw made sense that this was the Harrys Scar hint, I love the lightning bolt on the back! I usually prefer hats with pom poms on the top but I will definitely ditch the pom poms for this, it will be handy for dog walks!

The rest of the box, were all small items, the first I picked up was this Wizards Chess Piece Figure. I wasn't sure what piece this was until I looked at the pamphlet for this month which told me it was the King. I probably should have known that, but I'm not big on chess. Although it feels plasticy I don't think it looks it and has great detail. I will be adding it to my display of small Harry Potter items, which are mainly from my Geek Gear boxes.

Also in the box was a Dobby Rubber Keychain, I had seem something similar to this on Argos's website and I'm not sure if I like the design. If i didn't know it was supposed to be Dobby I'm not sure if I'd be able to tell what it was supposed to be but it is quite cute and I will add it to my keyring collection.

The next item came in a box that said Highest Quality Wears on it, this instantly had me curious as I was trying to think what could be in such a small box. I unwrapped the tissue paper and then realised what it was, Ravenclaw Diadem Brooch. I love the quality of this and at the bottom it even has the quote 'Wit beyond measure is man's greatest treasure'. I won't wear it as a brooch but will hang it with my pin badges on display.

Harry Potter Christmas Cards! This got me quite excited seeing these, it certainly wasn't something I was expecting to receive. The packet just had the one with the Christmas tree on the front showing and at first I didn't spot how it related to Harry Potter until I saw the broomstick under the tree. When I took them out of the packaging and saw the second card I wasn't sure if I liked it until I looked at the inside and saw it had a picture of a sock! I thought it was a great idea and I'm not sure if I want to use them or keep them.

At the bottom of my box was a Hogwarts Crest House Print, there was a different print for each house and it has the effect like it has been spray painted on. I like that it isn't a solid colour and it does look pretty cool, they would look nice all lined up on the wall if you got them all.

This month all of the items were exclusive with the Dobby Keyring and Print being licensed. I also noticed the magazine that is usually in each box has been changed to a pamphlet, which doesn't bother me, it still has the same information and on the back shows the first hint for next month being Pickett/A Bowtruckle from Fantastic Beasts which has me excited. My favourite item from this month was probably the Ravenclaw Diadem Brooch, I haven't got anything like this in my collection and it's very pretty!

Interested? Check out Geek Gear for more information. Geek Gear does a general geek box as well as Wearable and Pin boxes each month for both. They also have a shop to purchase specific items from each box if you don't fancy subscribing.

Lyndsey xx

Follow Me
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blog Post Archive
bottom of page