top of page

Disney on Ice 2017 Passport to Adventure

Hey!

Yesterday I took a trip to Sheffield Arena and saw Disney on Ice: Passport to Adventure. When I was originally asked if I would like to go I said yes but didn't know what to expect as I had never been do a Disney on Ice show before. I had seen a few adverts and thought although it would be full of kids, I love Disney so thought I'd enjoy it.

Programme

We went to the 2:30 show, I bought a programme which came with a Hawaiian Lei and is mainly full of pictures but I always buy programmes to any show I go to that has them, we then found our seats minutes before the show started (it was very tight timing wise, the queue to get in seemed to be moving a lot slower than other shows I've been to at the arena) and sat down waiting for it to start, the Fit to Dance Pre-Show featuring Zootropolis came on, being called a Pre-Show I thought it would have been something that happened before the show started at 2:30 so I had assumed we wouldn't see this. Judy Hopps the rabbit and Nick Wilde the fox came out running around the edge of the ice, joined by 3 skaters on the ice and did a quick routine getting the kids jumping about in their seats to warm up.

The main story of the show is that Mickey, Minnie and the rest of the gang are on vacation and travel to different parts of the world. It started off with Mickey, Minnie, Donald, Daisy and Goofy welcoming everyone before more skaters came on performing a routine to It's a Small World which brought back memories of when I went on the ride of the same name in Florida. The skaters were each representing different countries and cultures from around the world.

The rest of the show was split into 4 different mini performances from 4 Disney films, The Lion King, Peter Pan, The Little Mermaid and Frozen where the main story lines are acted out with Mickey, Minnie and Friends coming back onto the ice in-between each performance. For the first one, Mickey, Minnie and Friends went to the African Savannah to Lion King. I really enjoyed the performance to Can You Feel the Love Tonight, in which Simba and Nala skated around and did a variety of lifts. The last part of Lion King, Simba, Nala, Rafiki, Timon and Pumbaa all came back onto the ice for Circle of Life, during which Simba and Nala performed the headbanger which although amazing was hard to watch as Nalas head got so close to the ice.

Lion King

They then went to London and Never Land to see Peter Pan. Wendy, Michael and John entered and then Peter Pan and Tinkerbell joined the ice looking for Peter Pans shadow. Captain Hook and Smee came onto the stage in a boat and the crocodile even made an appearance before the lost boys performed to Following the Leader. Peter Pan got the audience involved clapping when Tinkerbell is poisoned to show that everyone believes in magic. This was the last section before the 15 minute interval.

Peter Pan

The second half of the show started by going Under the Sea to see Ariel in The Little Mermaid, after Mickey, Minnie and Friends had made another appearance. Ariel came onto the ice and sang Part of your world with Flounder skating around. My favourite part of this was when the other skaters on the ice picked Ariel up and moved her up and down horizontally like she was swimming, if that makes any sense! There was also bubbles that came down from the roof which I thought were a great addition. During Under the Sea the ice rink got pretty full with sea horses, starfish, sharks, jellyfish and other mermaids all skating around the ice for a big group performance.

The final performance was a trip to Arendelle for Frozen, at the start of the show there wasn't one I was looking forward to the most but this was definitely my favourite section, it even included snow falling from the roof! I loved when Olaf made his entrance onto the ice and they played catch with his head before the performance of In Summer. The performance of Elsa during Let it Go, I think was my favourite routine of the whole show, I filmed almost all of this which you can see in the video below.

For the finale, everyone came out onto the ice for one final time, to do a group routine to Let it Go and skated around the ice waving their goodbyes which was quite nice to see everyone in the performance at the same time.

Finale

Overall I really enjoyed the show, apologies the pictures aren't great quality, I only had my phone on me and trying to take in-focus pictures of ice skaters while sat at a distance was harder than I thought. Something to be aware of if you are planning a trip to Disney on Ice, the merchandise and food is very expensive! For a bag of Candy Floss it is £9, it was a larger bag than the traditional size and did come with a Disney hat but I still don't think it is worth £9!

See below for a video I put together of a few clips I recorded, mainly of Frozen.

Click here for more information on the Disney on Ice tour and to book tickets: https://www.disneyonice.com

Hope you enjoyed

Lyndsey xx

Follow Me
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Blog Post Archive
bottom of page